Gündem Haberleri

    Greek Cypriot leader displeased over Turkey's Security Council seat

    HotNewsTurkey with wires
    19.10.2008 - 09:51 | Son Güncelleme:

    Greek Cypriot's are displeased over Turkey's election as a non-permanent member of the U.N. Security Council (UNSC) for the period of 2009-2010, its leader Demetris Christofias has said.

    "Certainly it does not please us that a country which occupies a part of the Cyprus Republic and violates the human rights of the Cypriot people is elected as a member of the Security Council," AFP quoted Christofias as saying.


    "It is a reality now but we will act to show that Turkey shouldn't have become a Security Council member," he added.


    Turkey's seat on the council for 2009-2010 is its first since 1961. Among nations in the European group at the United Nations, Austria and Turkey won non-permanent places on the Security Council in the Friday's voting in the U.N. General Assembly, leaving Iceland defeated.


    Last month, Christofias and his Turkish Cypriot counterpart Mehmet Ali Talat launched comprehensive peace talks to reunite the island, which has been divided since 1964 when Turkish Cypriots were forced to withdraw into enclaves.


    The launch of negotiations marked the first major push for peace since the failure of a U.N. reunification plan in 2004, which was approved by Turkish Cypriots but overwhelmingly rejected by the Greek Cypriots.


    Past peace efforts have repeatedly floundered on the same sticking points - power-sharing arrangements, property rights for displaced Cypriots, the nature of a future federation and the intervention rights for Turkey and Greece. The two countries remain the guarantor powers for the island, which gained independence from Britain in 1960.


    The Security Council is the most important U.N. decision-making body, with its five permanent members -- Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States -- each having a power of veto over its decisions. The 10 non-permanent seats are filled by the General Assembly, with five countries elected each year to two-year non-renewable mandates.  



    Etiketler: gündem
    Son Dakika Haberler


      Sayfa Başı