Gündem Haberleri

    Turkey becomes non-permanent member of U.N. Security Council

    HotNewsTurkey with wires
    17.10.2008 - 18:37 | Son Güncelleme:

    The U.N. General Assembly on Friday elected Turkey, Japan, Austria, Mexico and Uganda to seats on the Security Council for 2009-10. (UPDATED)

    Turkey went through easily and Austria by a narrow margin, beating Iceland in the battle for two European seats on the council.

    Turkey scored 151 votes in the voting, while Austria won 132 votes.

    Iceland, an apparent victim of its grave financial crisis, scored 87 votes, well short of the two-thirds majority required.

    Iran, a country under U.N. sanctions, garnered only 32 votes, losing the Asian seat to Japan which received 158 votes.


    Mexico ran unopposed for the Latin American seat as did Uganda for the African seat.


    The General Assembly votes once a year for five of the 10 non-permanent seats on the 15-nation council, the powerhouse of the United Nations with the ability to impose sanctions and dispatch peacekeepers.

    The permanent members, which have veto power, are the United States, Russia, Britain, France and China.

    Turkey, earlier, held a seat on the Security Council in 1951-52, 1954-55 and 1961.


    Son Dakika Haberler


      Sayfa Başı